The UK National Archives

The UK National Archives is the official archive and publisher for the UK government, and for England and Wales. It holds about 11 million historical government and public records, dating from the Middle Ages until the twentieth century. The collection includes paper and parchment, electronic records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings, and paintings.

Digitization of the records is still in progress. In August 2014 over 5% of records had so far been digitized. The collections of the National Archives can be searched with the catalogue Discovery. The search results will indicate whether the records are available online or not. It is also possible to search only within the online collections. Searching the catalogue is free of charge, but in some cases a fee is requested to download records.

Basic and advanced search options are available. In addition, there also also many thematic collections of records that can be browsed and accessed.

Last update

Thursday, 16 October 2014 - 3:36pm
Your rating: None
Average: 5 (1 vote)