Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) focuses on the 1.7 million people who died in the two world wars. It cares for cemeteries and memorials at 23.000 locations, in 154 countries. Its member governments are Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, South Africa, and the United Kingdom. The CWGC also has an archive with a variety of original material concerning the organization.

This website gives access to a large amount of information concerning the organization. It also contains two online databases:

  • ‘Find war dead’, a database of casualties. This lists the names and place of commemoration of the 1.7 million men and women of the Commonwealth forces who died during the two world wars. It also records details of the 67.000 Commonwealth civilians who died as a result of enemy action in the Second World War. Advanced search in the database is possible. For each person a record is shown, which can also be downloaded. There is also a digitized version of the corresponding information in the CWGC archive.
  • ‘Find a cemetery.’ This contains information about 23.000 cemeteries, memorials, and other locations worldwide where Commonwealth casualties from the two world wars are commemorated. Records include location notes, maps, plans, and pictures.

Last update

Monday, 1 August 2016 - 4:30pm
Your rating: None
No votes yet